Skip to content

Wisconsin Baby Photographer | Eleanor Elise

February 3, 2010

Okay, okay, so I keep saying I don’t photograph babies. And then a friend has a baby and I have a camera and well, we make pictures. They are kind of hard to resist – sleeping or crying they present a tasty photographic assignment: just take a really *good* picture – well lit, well composed, natural and fresh. And oh yeah, babies are tiny and so expressive. Little Eleanor Elise fits the bill – she’s only 6 weeks old in these pictures and she literally greeted me with a twinkle in her eyes. I’m telling you, the girl’s got spunk, just like her mom Aliya. Aliya and I met through our (women’s) college’s local alumnae club and we are both the volunteer-for-stuff type, as are most Smith College alums, I suppose. Plus, we both are short and fiesty, love a good curry and have a hard time being quiet or still. In December Aliya sheepishly asked me if I would make an exception and photograph Eleanor Elise for her. How could I resist?  After all, she shares a name with every Smithie’s favorite first lady.

Meet Eleanor, Smith class of 2032…(we hope.)

Eleanor was born with a full head of luxurious hair and she still has it so I couldn’t resist taking the quintessential head in hands picture. And speaking of hair, Eleanor has a fur brother named Jake who is so sweet to her. He let me nuzzle her into his side, only asking to lick a toe or two in return.

Towards the end of our time together Eleanor became understandably *over the whole thing.* Even so, I found myself interested in capturing another set of her emotions. I like this last set of photos paired together – I think they capture her potential well-roundedness!

So (drum roll, please) let’s make it official:

I photograph babies.

If you have a newborn or baby that you would like photographed in natural light with an eye for the soft and sweet, please contact me at heathercookelliott@mac.com.

All shoots are 1-2 hours, on location (your home) and include an on-line gallery and disc of images. Sessions are limited during wedding high season (May-October), otherwise we’ll find a date that works for both of us..and your little one, of course.

******

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Aliya permalink
    February 3, 2010 5:07 am

    Heather, these are amazing! Of course we’re biased towards the subject matter but Nick and I can’t get enough. Thank you so much!

  2. Liz permalink
    February 3, 2010 6:11 am

    Ok, I’m usually pretty underwhelmed by baby photos but these are really great. I just love the smile in the one in pink – it’s like she’s 6 weeks going on 16! Well done, and thanks for sharing.

  3. Marcey Uday-Riley permalink
    February 3, 2010 1:49 pm

    You have captured the essence of a happy and loved baby…even though she is very special to us, you have done her proud…her family, too. Thx.

  4. Coral Butson and Bryan Manning permalink
    February 3, 2010 5:40 pm

    Heather,
    This is so precious. Even though we are still 6 months away from our wedding, I’m already excited to see our photographs. Good luck in this new venture of baby photography, we’ll definitely keep it in mind a few years down the road!
    Coral Butson and Bryan Manning

  5. Liz's Mom permalink
    February 3, 2010 8:17 pm

    Congrats, Aliya and Nick! My favorite shot is the one of Eleanor in the pale pink number. She’s adorable.

  6. Jodi Warhanek permalink
    February 4, 2010 7:19 am

    I love these photos…. there is a twinkle in her eyes! Heather, you are indeed a baby photographer now and I am happy to see you have declared this to the world.
    Much love,
    Jodi

Trackbacks

  1. Lisa & Brendan | Wisconsin Engagement Photographer « Heather Cook Elliott Photography
  2. Eleanor Elise at 1 year « Heather Cook Elliott Photography

Leave a comment