Skip to content

Caitlin & Ben | Plum perfect

October 19, 2010

Thinking about Caitlin & Ben’s day makes me smile. All the usual suspects were there – beautiful flowers, delightful pops of color, fun paper details, a gorgeous set of venues – but ultimately, it was the people that I met during the day that helped to clarify for me the meaning of life and love and friendship and family. I suppose every wedding does a little bit of that, but Caitlin & Ben’s was just a notch above on the thankfulness scale. I learned just a few days before the wedding that Ben’s dad was ill and his presence was in question. The wedding day dawned warm and hopeful and Ben’s dad did attend and fully participate in, rather triumphantly I thought, the entire day. I knew his presence was a tiny gift in the midst of unanswered questions and probably quite a bit of soulful pleading with the divine. Sadly, just a few days after releasing the full set of photos to Caitlin & Ben I learned he had passed from their lives. I share these very personal details because I know that inevitably feelings of loss will tag along with their wedding memories and photos and stories for the foreseeable future. I think time is the only thing with the strength to soften such a hard blow to the heart, but I will make my little offering to Ben & Caitlin anyway.

Caitlin & Ben ~ your wedding felt to me to be a day long poem, a song, a hymn to love. I felt every guest and family member to be truly present in a very deep way, the two of you magically more present than them all.  In your photos I see something like the opposite of sadness, a bit of something I can only identify as grace. Or maybe its just True Love. I saw each of you brilliantly coming through in your details and interactions, your bright personalities dosed with a little romanticism. Without further ado, Caitlin & Ben’s plum perfect day:

Caitlin's bright plum shoes

From the Delafield Hotel we moved to St. John’s Nobel Victory Chapel, one of my all-time favorite locations for a wedding. The stained glass and the classic red front doors are perfect for photographs but also for framing little moments between people. We lengthened the day by going to Lapham Peak where I could play with a few of their whimsical details and arrived at Bristlecone Pines in time to enjoy the cocktail hour…and the candy hour, too.

My favorite tattoo. Ever. Indeed, you must follow your heart.

Cailtin & Ben's big puppies were featured on the place cards.

During the toasts great streams of warm sunset light flowed in over Caitlin & Ben’s shoulders so I couldn’t resist having them take a moment alone with the setting sun. But first, their toasts were each and every one touching and smart and funny. I love how every emotion from shock to gratitude to love played out so openly on their faces as they listened.

Caitlin & Ben- You two are perfect together. Thank you for including me in your day; It was an honor and a delight to witness and photograph.

The Details

Bride’s dress: Maggie Sottero

Bride’s shoes: Mossimo from Target

Dress hanger: Etsy

Jewelry and Tuxes: Savvy Bridal

Flowers: Designs, Etc.

Cake: Sweet Perfections

DJ: All-Star Music

Accommodations: The Delafield Hotel

Ceremony: St. John’s Nobel Victory Chapel

Reception: The Legend at Bristlecone Pines

******

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. susan lassiter permalink
    October 19, 2010 7:28 am

    Beautiful bride, beautiful colors, beautiful photos, beautiful day!

  2. Leigh Doran permalink
    October 20, 2010 10:11 am

    Dear Caitlin and Ben –
    Thank you again for letting me be such a part of your amazing wedding day. I think the pictures go to show how perfect it was. I am so happy for you two. As mentioned on the day of your wedding – you have taught your brother and I what to look for in a husband or wife. May the two of us be as lucky as you two in the future.
    This last month has been a very hard time for you. (I’m not sure hard is even the right word). You two had to deal with a loss that most people certainly don’t deal with so early on in life. I watched you two learn more about yourselves and your marriage throughout it. I saw a new strength in your marriage. You provided for each other what every person deserves in a situation such as Dan’s loss. I am so happy that you had each other to lean on during this time.
    I love you both up to the sky!
    Your sister,
    Leighann

    Heather – thank you for doing such a beautiful job on the photos. You not only got amazing shots of the whole day but found a way to get some very important ones of Dan. These two will treasure those photos. Dan was a strong man who fought one of the most difficult battles I know. I know he is looking down and smiling at all the pictures you got of him! Lastly, I know this blog entry meant a lot to Caitlin and Ben – you had a very special way of describing their love and their day.
    ~Leigh

  3. LORI WILTINGER permalink
    October 21, 2010 5:27 pm

    The pictures actually do justice to the beauty of the day. That’s saying alot because it did all turn out just perfectly. I am so happy that Caitlin & Ben found each other. I think Caitlin & Libby have both found perfect mates and I hope that all of the rest of the cousins do the same. We’re happy & fortunate to add Ben to our family (and June &Nicky too). It was a day that will not be forgotten anytime soon. Love to you guys, Aunt Lori

  4. Stephanie Durkin permalink
    October 25, 2010 8:32 pm

    Well, after reading Leighs’ post … that pretty much sums up everything perfectly. It was a perfect day, minus the morning of but we all got through it and pretty gracefully I might add. Caitlin, you don’t have anything to worry about, the pictures are perfect 🙂 and you do look amazing! I can only hope that I can and have found? a love that you and Ben share for eachother. And along with all of the other details; the perfect shoes, perfect dress, perfect church, the perfect day, and of course the perfect couple. Congratulations and I am glad as well that I got to play a small part in your special day. I think I might cry…

  5. June Schiffer permalink
    October 26, 2010 9:17 pm

    Ben and Caitlin,

    I love you both so much, you are a great couple. Your wedding was an absolutely wonderful day. As Dad had said I hope the two of you find the same love that Dad and I have for each other. May you have many, many happy years with each other.

    Love,
    Mom

Leave a Reply

